Do you trust in God EVERYTHING?

Image

Men’s group this morning.  What great revelations into God’s plans for us.  I talked in another blog about Letting Go and letting God.  It is scriptural, but (big but) it is such an easy phrase to blurt out, when it is not that easy to actually do.  Those of you who are saved will remember that day you were saved by the Spirit, and that there was nothing else in the world that mattered except for that Love of God that was flowing in like a river and wonderfully overwhelming.  Well since then, and me included, we tend to pick up things along the way.  We pick back up our lives where we left them, though we should not have resumed where we left off.  When we are saved in the spirit God strips us of everything good and bad and replaces His love with it all, then gives us back what He wants to bless us with.  So in all essence, everything we have comes from Him.  Well I have had the tendency to pick up some of the things myself and hold on to them as if I had gained that under my own power.  I know that my wife and children were given to me, but still I act sometimes as if I had something to do with all of that.  My house that “I worked hard for”, I know it is a blessing from God and that it had nothing to do with me, yet I still pick that up and hold tight to it at times as if it was really important.  Well I do that with alot of stuff, my career, my kids and their education (college tuition), my wife and her education expenses, my cars, my house, my, my , my, and I forget how to let go of this stuff and give it back to God as none of it is really mine.

Now that I have come back to this, and given it back to him I was talking about the blessings and the phrase “Let go and let God” in men’s group this morning, when the check was given to me by the leader of the group that this phrase can actually frustrate people so we need to be careful.  So I was like, “wait I never said it was easy, and for me it is not easy letting go of this stuff.  It was difficult” I explained. “I had to go to God in prayer every night and ask for His forgiveness for not trusting Him with my life.”  After a couple of weeks trying to do it on my own, as I did not know how to let go, and asking for His forgivenss everynight for not letting Him have it or trusting him with it, I finally was at the end of my rope of trying to make things work (more specifically trying to find a job), and I bent to my knees asked for forgiveness, threw my arms up in defeat, and said “God it is yours, wherever you want me to go, wehrever you need me, if I have to file bankruptcy, if I have to start over, if I have to lose my family, I am yours still and it is all yours. Take me where you want me to go, and I will follow.  I cannot hold on to this world this tight anymore.”  I left it at that.  The next day He blessed me with a new job thsat pays exactly what my family needed for our future.

The day after I was offered the job at the interview, I received a call from my prayer partner whasaid God was getting ready to bless me with more money this year.  I was like awesome I just got a job!  Well 5 minutes after that phone call I got a call from my new employer offering me a better position that paid 1.5 times what I had accepted from them the day before.  God is so awesome. 

So yes letting Go and letting God, though it may be a little cliche(ish), and it takes some work, will work.  You may have to go and tell God that you do not trust Him completely as I did and ask His forgiveness for the lack of trust, as we do hold on to our stuff so tightly that we forget that God gave it to us to begin with.  Some of the stuff that is not good or wonderful you should give to Him anyway as it was not from Him to begin with, yet we still hold on to some of the bad stuff too.  Bottom line, we came into this world with nothing but His Love and maybe the Love of others and will leave with nothing more than His love and maybe the Love of others.  We will not be taking any of this junky stuff with us when we go to heaven or into eternity, so we should loosen our kung fu grip, give it all back to Him and let Him bless us with what He knows we need.

Our preconceived notions of what we think we need, may not be as awesome as what He will give us when we let go of it all.  Let it go, Let God bless you as He sees fit.  Try to trust Him to do this for you, and if you are having a hard time trusting Him in this process, go to Him in prayer asking Him to forgive you.  He loves us so much that He will never let you suffer.  There may be pain, but to wallow in that pain is suffering that you do not need.  There is a huge difference. 

Father God, forgive my untrusting heart, thank you for your unfailing Love.  Thank you for everything you have given me, as all of this is yours anyway.  You have trusted me with these children, with this family, with this house and so many other blessings, help me to trust You with this life, and to let go of this strangle hold I have on things of this world.  In Jesus most mighty and wonderful name, Amen

One thought on “Do you trust in God EVERYTHING?

  1. Trust is probably the hardest aspect of following Jesus. It comes by baby steps, then we toddle along for a while. Eventually we learn to walk by faith. I’m glad He’s patient and knows this is a process.

    The Lord bless and keep you!

Leave a Reply

