Centering my love for Jesus

As Sunday morning came this morning, I was contemplating going to church.  I needed to feel His presence, and I think my wife is on to me that I am not filled with His love right now.  So in waiting for the tea pot to get hot, I started to look around on Facebook and a few sites, check my e-mail, and make pop tarts for my daughter.  As the time drew near for me to start getting dressed I noticed the tea pot had not started whistling.  So I went and checked on it, and it turned out that I turned the wrong burner on, or perhaps I put the kettle on the wrong one.  Either way, I was another 15 minutes away from my tea, not good.  So I fixed the problem, went to go put my pants on for church while the water boiled, and my big toe caught a seam in my trousers, and ripped a hole large enough for an encyclopedia to go through.  Again not good.

So I did what any other person might attach hisself to, a good cup of tea, a blanket, curled up on the couch, and went to church on-line.  I know it is not quite the same but I got my time, but it is just not the same.  Hard to get the thundering sound of the music that is so amped up, and the Spirit of the Lord which is roaming free is not so easy to attune to while on the couch.  I realized that I would have been better off if I had just gone out to the woods to see His beauty and tune into the nature of the world He created.  Instead I was on-line, praising Him for every good thing in my life.

In that praising, I realized that all I needed was to reach out to Him, and I can get back to center with Him.  So in my time on the computer I sort of tuned out and tuned in to Him and His love and what he has done for me.  The cat got on my lap, the children started to scurry, the wife was stirring, but with my headphones on and my love for Jesus, I was able to spend time with Him still alone.

God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten son.  God loved the world.  He loves us, and the world, and has chosen to be with us if we choose to be with Him.  So in choosing to Love Him, He has rewarded us with the gift of family, careers, hope, salvation, and grace.  I realized that without this Hope there is no reason to live.  The grace He extends is so sufficient, that we are able to bare things in this world that others cannot.  The salvation gives us a glimpse of heaven that awaits us, and I so look forward to that.  His Love gives us a peace that surpasses understanding, and is impossible to explain to those who have not received it.  I so wish I could tell my 18 year old about it, so he will stop complaining about how bad the world is and that there is no such thing as God.  He is book smart, but has no concept of the world.  But God came to me, and I can only hope that He comes to my son too.

Father God, thank you for your love, your grace, your salvation and your peace.  You overwhelm me in ways I cannot explain, I love your touch on my life, and appreciate the gifts you have blessed me with.  Please help me to strengthen my faith, to trust you more, and let go of those things that I clutch on to so tightly.  Thank you for your son Jesus, who has opened my heart and my eyes to see the truth of life, and to not be lost in this world.  Amen

http://www.empowernetwork.com/jaelliott/blog/silent-language-of-hands/Ab sunset

One thought on “Centering my love for Jesus

  1. Thanks for this post. I know the sadness of kids who don’t get it. I have seven, and only three are following in Jesus’ steps.

    Grace and peace to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

